The New Berejiklian Ministry

29 January 2017


Newly appointed NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian announced her new Cabinet this morning alongside her Deputy Premier, John Barilaro, outlining the biggest reshuffle since the Government was elected in 2011. The Premier travelled to Mr Barilaro’s home town of Queanbeyan, in the marginal electorate of Monaro, in a clear message that regional NSW will command more attention under the new Administration.

Mr Barilaro remains Minister for Regional NSW, Minister for Skills and Minister for Small Business. Former Nationals Party leader and former deputy premier Troy Grant has remained in Cabinet, retaining the policing and emergency services portfolios.

Victor Dominello has been appointed Minister for Finance, Services and Property, replacing Dominic Perorrett who was announced as Treasurer last week. Member for Hornsby Matt Kean has been appointed to Cabinet for the first time, replacing Minister Dominello in Innovation and Better Regulation.

Long-serving MP Brad Hazzard has been elevated to the roles of Minister for Health and Minister for Medical Research following the retirement of Jillian Skinner on Friday. Gabrielle Upton and Mark Speakman swap portfolios, with Mr Speakman becoming Attorney General and Ms Upton moving to Environment and Heritage. Ms Upton also assumes responsibility for Local Government and will be responsible for spearheading the Government’s anticipated modified approach to unpopular council amalgamations.

Prominent conservative Anthony Roberts has been confirmed as Minister for Planning, replacing Rob Stokes who moves to the Education portfolio. Mr Roberts will also serve as Special Minister of State, a role he previously held from 2011 until the 2015 reshuffle and Minister for Housing.

In Transport, Andrew Constance retains his responsibilities as Minister for Transport and Infrastructure, while Nationals MP Melinda Pavey has been promoted into Cabinet as Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight. Notably Major Sydney road project WestConnex has been carved out of the Roads portfolio and assigned to Liberal MP Stuart Ayres, who will serve as Minister for Western Sydney, Minister for WestConnex and Minister for Sport.

Pru Goward returns to the Family and Community Services portfolio, a role she held from 2011-14; she will also be Minister for Social Housing and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault.

Heralding significant change in the Legislative Council, current President Don Harwin moves into Cabinet for the first time as Minister for Resources, Minister for Energy and Utilities and Minister for the Arts. Mr Harwin also assumes the role of Leader of the Government in the Upper House, replacing the outgoing Duncan Gay, who has announced his intention to retire from Parliament. John Ajaka has been announced as President (elect) to take over from Mr Harwin, subject to the vote of the Council.

The new Cabinet represents a significant shake up within the ranks of the Nationals with the departure of senior minister Adrian Piccoli and Leslie Williams, in addition to Duncan Gay.

The new ministry is expected to be sworn in on Monday.


Other key changes include:

Nationals MPs

  • Paul Toole loses Local Government, however picks up Lands and Forestry and Racing
  • Adam Marshall moves into Cabinet as Minister for Tourism and Major Events and Assistant Minister for Skills
  • Sarah Mitchell replaces Leslie Williams as Minister Early Childhood Education and Aboriginal Affairs


Liberal MPs

  • David Elliot is the State’s first ever Minister for Counter Terrorism, in addition to Minister for Corrections and Minister for Veterans Affairs
  • Tanya Davies comes into Cabinet for the first time as Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Women and Minister for Ageing
  • Ray Williams also enters Cabinet for the first time as Minister for Multiculturalism and Minister for Disability Services



Back to articles