NSW Election 2023: Ministry Update Issue 6

Issue 6, 4 April 2023

NSW Premier Chris Minns has unveiled his new Ministry this morning, which will be sworn in tomorrow, Wednesday 5 April.

In announcing his 22-member Cabinet, Premier Minns said the Ministry comprises 50 per cent women, pointing to a number of portfolios that will be held by women for the first time, including Energy, Police and Finance. This announcement follows last week’s swearing in of the leadership team, with the remainder of the new Government’s Cabinet to be sworn in at Government House tomorrow.

Labor is set to govern in minority, currently holding 45 seats – two short of the 47 needed to form a majority government. Only one seat remains up for grabs in Ryde, where the Liberal Party is slightly ahead in the count. The Coalition is currently on 35 seats.

While a number of key team members retained the portfolios held in Opposition, there have been some changes to responsibilities. Penny Sharpe adds Energy and Climate Change to her existing portfolios of Environment and Heritage, John Graham gains Jobs and Tourism, Health Minister Ryan Park swaps Mental Health for Regional Health, with Rose Jackson picking up Mental Health and Youth.

Yasmin Catley will assume responsibility for Police and Counter-Terrorism, and Jihad Dib, previously Shadow Minister for Energy and Climate Change, will take on Customer Service and Digital Government. Tara Moriarty is the new Minister for Agriculture, Regional NSW and Western NSW. Anoulack Chanthivong assumes the portfolios of Better Regulation and Fair Trading; Innovation, Science and Technology; as well as Corrections. Stephen Kamper is Minister for Small Business; Lands and Property; Sport; and Multiculturalism, and Wyong MP David Harris becomes Minister for Gaming and Racing; Veterans and Medical Research. Ron Hoeing will move into the Ministry as Minister for Local Government.

Please see the Ministry list below for full details.

Labor Government Ministry List

The Honourable Christopher John Minns MP

The Honourable Prudence Ann Car MP
Deputy Premier
Minister for Education and Early Learning
Minister for Western Sydney

The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC
Minister for Climate Change
Minister for Energy
Minister for the Environment
Minister for Heritage

The Honourable John Graham MLC
Special Minister of State
Minister for Roads
Minister for the Arts
Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy
Minister for Jobs and Tourism

The Honourable Daniel Mookhey MLC

The Honourable Ryan John Park MP
Minister for Health
Minister for Regional Health
Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast

The Honourable Joanna Elizabeth Haylen MP
Minister for Transport

The Honourable Paul Scully MP
Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

The Honourable Sophie Cotsis MP
Minister for Industrial Relations
Minister for Work Health and Safety

The Honourable Yasmin Maree Catley MP
Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism

The Honourable Jihad Dib MP
Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government
Minister for Emergency Services
Minister for Youth Justice

The Honourable Kate Rebecca Washington MP
Minister for Families and Communities
Minister for Disability Inclusion

The Honourable Michael John Daley MP
Attorney General

The Honourable Tara Moriarty MLC
Minister for Agriculture
Minister for Regional New South Wales
Minister for Western New South Wales

The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP
Minister for Local Government
Vice-President of the Executive Council

The Honourable Courtney Houssos MLC
Minister for Finance
Minister for Natural Resources

The Honourable Stephen Kamper MP
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Lands and Property
Minister for Multiculturalism
Minister for Sport

The Honourable Rose Jackson MLC
Minister for Water
Minister for Housing
Minister for Homelessness
Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Youth
Minister for the North Coast

The Honourable Anoulack Chanthivong MP
Minister for Better Regulation and Fair Trading
Minister for Industry and Trade
Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology
Minister for Corrections

The Honourable Timothy Carson Crakanthorp MP
Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education
Minister for the Hunter

The Honourable David Robert Harris MP
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty
Minister for Gaming and Racing
Minister for Veterans
Minister for Medical Research
Minister for the Central Coast

The Honourable Jodie Elizabeth Harrison MP
Minister for Women
Minister for Seniors
Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

The Honourable Jennifer Kathleen Aitchison MP
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads

Parliamentary Office Holders

The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

The Honourable John Graham MLC
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Assembly


Further information

For more information about the NSW State Election outcome, or to enquire about our services in New South Wales, please contact a member of our team on the details below or our Sydney office on +61 2 8353 0400 or at [email protected].

Jaimi Greenspan, Director – Public Affairs
M: +61 432 590 193
E: [email protected] 

Kirsten Mulley, CEO
M: +61 408 476 470
E: [email protected]


Back to articles