NSW Cabinet Reshuffle

Perrottet looks to 2023
20 December 2021
As expected, NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet has announced his new look Cabinet elevating nine new Ministers and making a number of significant changes to key portfolios.Deputy Leader of the Liberals Matt Kean retains both his roles as Treasurer and Minister for Energy, while his responsibility for Environment moves to Manly MP James Griffin, who also takes on Heritage. Meanwhile, former leadership contender Stuart Ayres gains the new portfolio of Enterprise, and retains responsibility for Tourism, Sport and Western Sydney.

Key Perrottet ally Finance Minister Damien Tudehope will serve as Leader of Government in the Legislative Council and gains the portfolios of Vice President of the Executive Council and Minister for Employee Relations. The Premier has also elevated former Corrections Minister Anthony Roberts to the Planning portfolio a role he has previously held, along with the new portfolio of Homes.

Former Police Minister David Elliott takes on one of the most challenging tasks in state politics with responsibility for Transport. Elliott will be assisted in part by Legislative Council members Natalie Ward who takes on Metropolitan Roads. He will also serve as Minister for Veterans. Member for Ku-ring-gai Alister Henskens succeeds Mark Speakman as Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly. He also takes on the portfolios Skills and Training, and Science, Innovation and Technology. Former Planning Minister Rob Stokes takes on Infrastructure, Cities and Active Transport. The Corrections portfolio will remain separate and sit with Parramatta MP Geoff Lee.

Brad Hazzard retains his role as Minister for Health, but he will be joined by Bronnie Taylor as Minister for Regional Health. Taylor also retains her portfolios of Mental Health and Women.

Premier Perrottet has also moved to promote a number of Assistant Ministers and backbench MPs including MLC Natasha Maclaren-Jones (Families and Communities, Disability Services), Miranda MP Eleni Petinos (Small Business and Fair Trading), Oatley MP Mark Coure (Seniors and Multiculturism), MLC Ben Franklin (Aboriginal Affairs, Arts and Youth) and Goulburn MP Wendy Tuckerman (Local Government).

In a coup for the Nationals, Deputy Premier Paul Toole will become Minister for Police while retaining his responsibility for Regional NSW. Deputy Nationals Leader Sarah Mitchell will retain the Education and Early Learning portfolio. Also, Tamworth MP Kevin Anderson takes on Lands and Water and Hospitality and Racing, while upper house MLC Sam Farraway takes on Regional Transport and Roads and Cootamundra MP Steph Cook becomes Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience. Dubbo MP Dugald Saunders becomes Minister for Agriculture and Western New South Wales.

As had been previously announced, experienced Liberal ministers Shelley Hancock and Don Harwin were not appointed to Cabinet, nor was Nationals Minister for Water Melinda Pavey and Minister for Agriculture Adam Marshall. Hancock and Harwin have indicated they will remain in parliament until the next election, while Pavey and Marshall have indicated their intentions to continue to serve their respective electorates.

Further insight will be provided once an updated Allocation of the Administration of Acts is published.

Full Cabinet List

  • Dominic Perrottet Premier
  • Paul Toole Deputy Premier, Minister for Regional New South Wales, Minister for Police
  • Stuart Ayres Minister for Enterprise, Minister for Tourism and Sport, Minister for Western Sydney
  • Bronnie Taylor Minister for Women, Minister for Regional Health, Minister for Mental Health
  • Matt Kean Treasurer, Minister for Energy
  • Damien Tudehope Minister for Finance, Minister for Employee Relations, Vice-President of the Executive Council, Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
  • Alister Henskens Minister for Skills and Training, Minister for Science, Innovation and Technology, Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly
  • Brad Hazzard Minister for Health
  • Sarah Mitchell Minister for Education and Early Learning
  • Mark Speakman Attorney General
  • Rob Stokes Minister for Infrastructure, Minister for Cities, Minister for Active Transport
  • Victor Dominello Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government
  • Anthony Roberts Minister for Planning, Minister for Homes
  • David Elliott Minister for Transport, Minister for Veterans
  • Natalie Ward Minister for Metropolitan Roads, Minister for Women’s Safety and the Prevention of Domestic and Sexual Violence
  • Kevin Anderson Minister for Lands and Water, Minister for Hospitality and Racing
  • Dr Geoff Lee Minister for Corrections
  • Natasha Maclaren-Jones Minister for Families and Communities, Minister for Disability Services
  • Sam Farraway Minister for Regional Transport and Roads
  • Steph Cooke Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience
  • Eleni Petinos Minister for Small Business, Minister for Fair Trading
  • James Griffin Minister for Environment and Heritage
  • Mark Coure Minister for Seniors, Minister for Multiculturalism
  • Dugald Saunders Minister for Agriculture, Minister for Western New South Wales
  • Ben Franklin Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for the Arts, Minister for Regional Youth
  • Wendy Tuckerman Minister for Local Government


Back to articles