New Turnbull Government Ministry Announced

18 July 2016

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull unveiled his revamped Ministry this afternoon, which features increased representation for the Nationals and three new Assistant Ministers. In a party room meeting this morning, the Prime Minister said Australians have entrusted the Coalition with their “destiny for the next three years” and expect the Party to deliver the “leadership and government they deserve”.

The reshuffle was necessitated by the departure of former Ministers Peter Hendy and Wyatt Roy who were not returned at the election earlier this month, and the likely loss of Tasmanian Senator Richard Colbeck who previously held the Tourism and International Education portfolio. The Prime Minister stated there will be no barriers to Senator Colbeck returning to the Ministry should he be re-elected.

All previous Cabinet Ministers have been reappointed, with minor changes occurring to some titles and roles. Assistant Treasurer Kelly O’Dwyer becomes Minister for Revenue and Financial Services to better reflect her portfolio responsibilities.

Josh Frydenberg will move to the expanded Environment and Energy Portfolio, which includes all key energy policy areas, while Greg Hunt moves from Environment to assume Christopher Pyne’s former role of Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science – Mr Hunt will be responsible for the delivery of the National Innovation and Science Agenda in his new role. Mr Pyne will fill the new position of Minister for Defence Industry within the Defence Portfolio.

NSW Nationals Senator Fiona Nash will add Local Government and Territories to her current responsibilities of Regional Development and Regional Communications, while Queensland Nationals Senator Matt Canavan has been elevated to Cabinet and takes on the portfolio of Resources and Northern Australia.

Key changes to the outer ministry include:

  • Paul Fletcher becomes Minister for Urban Infrastructure.
  • Scott Ryan has been appointed Special Minister of State in the Finance Portfolio and Assistant Minister to the Cabinet Secretary.
  • Michael McCormack will move from Assistant Minister for Defence to Minister for Small Business in the Treasury Portfolio, previously held by Kelly O’Dwyer.
  • Dan Tehan becomes Minister for Defence Personnel in addition to his role as Minister for Veterans Affairs.

Changes to Assistant Ministerial appointments include:

  • Craig Laundy has been appointed Assistant Minister for Innovation, taking over from Australia’s youngest ever Minister Wyatt Roy who was defeated at this election.
  • Keith Pitt becomes Assistant Minister for Trade, Investment and Tourism.
  • Alex Hawke assumes the role of Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection.
  • Karen Andrews becomes Assistant Minister for Vocational Education and Skills.

Three new Assistant Ministers have also been appointed: Luke Hartsuyker is Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister, Zed Seselja is Assistant Minister for Social Services and Multicultural Affairs, and David Gillespie is Assistant Minister for Rural Health.

The new Ministry will be sworn in at Government House in Canberra tomorrow.

See full Ministry here.


Back to articles