First Turnbull Ministry Announced

20 September 2015

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has today unveiled his revamped Cabinet and Ministry, featuring a range of new faces and structural portfolio changes. Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party Julie Bishop remains the Minister for Foreign Affairs, while Scott Morrison takes over as Treasurer from Joe Hockey, who has announced he will not contest the next election. Christian Porter, a former WA State Treasurer and Attorney General, has been promoted into Cabinet and assumes Mr Morrison’s former role as Social Services Minister. Senator Arthur Sinodinos has been promoted to the powerful coordinating and strategic role of Cabinet Secretary, a Cabinet level position.

Deputy Prime Minister and Leader of the Nationals Warren Truss retains his Infrastructure and Regional Development portfolio, and Deputy Nationals Leader Barnaby Joyce adds Water Resources to his existing responsibility for Agriculture.

Christopher Pyne is now the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, with his South Australian colleague Senator Simon Birmingham to take up the role of Education Minister. Senator Michaelia Cash has replaced Tasmanian Senator Eric Abetz as Minister for Employment while Attorney General Senator George Brandis has succeeded Senator Abetz as Leader of the Government in the Senate.

Kelly O’Dwyer was one of several women promoted into Cabinet and has been appointed Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Small Business. NSW Senator Marise Payne has been promoted into Cabinet with responsibility for Defence, the first female to hold that portfolio, along with Josh Frydenberg who assume responsibility for Resources, Energy and Northern Australia. Senator Mitch Fifield takes over from Mr Turnbull as Minister for Communications.

Sussan Ley remains Minister for Health and Minister for Sport. Peter Dutton remains the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, and Senator Nigel Scullion holds Indigenous Affairs. Greg Hunt retains his existing responsibility for the Environment portfolio, Mathias Cormann remains Minister for Finance, and Andrew Robb holds Trade and Investment.

There are also a range of new faces in the outer Ministry.  Paul Fletcher gains the portfolio of Territories, Local Government and Major Projects; Steven Ciobo becomes Minister for International Development and the Pacific; Senator Richard Colbeck will be the Minister for Tourism and International Education; former Howard Government Minister Mal Brough is appointed Special Minister of State as well as Minister for Defence Materiel and Science; Jamie Briggs gains the new portfolio of Cities and the Built Environment; the Nationals’ Fiona Nash is Minister for Rural Health; Stuart Robert will cover the Human Services and Veterans Affairs portfolios; and the Nationals Luke Hartsuyker becomes Minister for Vocational Education and Skills.

Malcolm Turnbull has also appointed a range of Assistant Ministers (formerly Parliamentary Secretaries) across the various portfolios.

The new Cabinet will be sworn in tomorrow morning.

See the full list here.


Back to articles