Announcement of Changes to the Turnbull Ministry

18 January 2017

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull announced a reshuffle of his Cabinet today, which sees some minor changes in portfolio responsibilities and reduces the size of Cabinet by one, from 23 to 22.

The reshuffle was necessitated by the resignation of Sussan Ley from her position as Minister for Health, Aged Care and Sport last week, following the launch of an investigation into Ms Ley’s taxpayer-funded travel expenses.

As part of the changes announced by Prime Minister Turnbull, Greg Hunt will replace Ms Ley as Minister for Health and Sport, with Mr Hunt’s responsibilities for Industry, Innovation and Science being transferred to Senator Arthur Sinodinos. The function of Cabinet Secretary performed by Senator Sinodinos will now be returned to the Prime Minister’s office.

Ken Wyatt has been promoted to Minister for Aged Care and the newly created portfolio of Indigenous Health, notably making him the first Indigenous person to be appointed to a Commonwealth Ministry.

In the Outer Ministry, Special Minister of State Scott Ryan will continue to support the Cabinet as Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Cabinet.

Member for Deakin (Victoria) Michael Sukkar has also been promoted to the re-established position of Assistant Minister to the Treasurer.

In making his announcement, the Prime Minister stated that “These changes will further strengthen my Ministry by combining experience and new talent. It’s a team that’s focused on delivering for all Australians”.

The new Ministry will be sworn in by the Governor General in Canberra on Tuesday.

See the Prime Minister’s media release here.


Back to articles